British Female Solo Artist WEBSITE_13740

Nominations for British Female Solo Artist

Laura Marling is looking for a repeat of the BRIT Awards 2011 as she’s once again nominated for British Female Solo Artist, but will have to fend off competition from Birdy, Ellie Goulding, Jessie J and Laura Mvula to scoop the prize for the second time.

She released her fourth album Once I Was an Eagle last year and reasserted herself as one of the UKs leading female vocalists at the heart of the folk revival which has occurred over the last few years.

At the same time as Marling won her BRIT three years ago, Jessie J was being tipped for huge things winning the Critics’ Choice Award – and the music experts who voted haven’t been disappointed. She proved again with her second album Alive that her fanbase is increasingly growing around the world as one of the country’s most iconic music exports.

Another past Critics’ Choice winner, Ellie Goulding, is also in contention for British Female Solo Artist. She can take the credit for some of the biggest tracks of last year – including Burn and I Need Your Love with Calvin Harris which have both been nominated for British Single – and will hope to top it all by picking up this Award at The O2 Arena, London, on February 19.

It’s been some 12 months for Laura Mvula as well, who narrowly missed out on last year’s Critics’ Choice Award to Tom Odell and so will be even more determined to win this time around. Her debut album Sing to The Moon went Top 10 in the UK and her seemingly timeless vocals have won fans across the globe. She’ll be up against Odell once again for British Breakthrough Act.

Newcomer to the BRITs, Birdy, will be hoping to win an Award at the first time of asking as she completes the stellar line up of nominees for British Female Solo Artist. Fire Within was released last year – her first original album after coming to prominence thanks to a series of covers, most notably of Bon Iver’s Skinny Love.

The BRIT Awards 2014 take place at London’s O2 Arena on February 19 and will be broadcast live on ITV at 8pm GMT. Click here for a list of all the nominees.