Tinie Tempah & Ellie Goudling

2011 Nominees revealed

With just one month to go until The BRIT Awards 2011 with MasterCard at The O2 in London, the nominations have been announced, revealing that 2011 sees the BRITs boys largely dominate the categories with Tinie Tempah, Plan B, Mumford & Sons and Take That leading the way with multiple nominations.

The 68 nominations reflect all that is popular and credible in British music right now and sees the country’s most exciting, original and talented artists all up for the most coveted statue in The BRITs’ 30-year history, exclusively restyled for 2011 by Vivienne Westwood.

Topping the list of nominations this year is South London sensation Tinie Tempah, who appears in four different categories including the prestigious MasterCard British Album of the Year. Hot on his heels are Plan B, The XX and Mumford & Sons, who have all received three nominations, while Ellie Goulding, Cheryl Cole, Take That, Rumer, Cee Lo Green, Arcade Fire, Katy Perry and Eminem are all nominated in two categories. Of these, Plan B, Mumford & Sons, The XX and Take That join Tinie Tempah to battle it out for the MasterCard British Album of the Year, the biggest award of the evening. On the night itself we’ll learn more about the creation of these five nominated albums as they are showcased via short films screened throughout the Awards, building the anticipation towards the evening’s big reveal.

In addition to his four nominations, it is confirmed today that Tinie Tempah will perform live at The BRIT Awards this year. International superstar Rihanna will also be performing at The O2 as part of a line-up that already boasts Take That and Plan B, with many more of the biggest names in music to be revealed soon.

The nominations were officially revealed by Fearne Cotton at a special event at London’s Indigo2 tonight, featuring performances by Jessie J (winner of The Critics’ Choice Award), Tinie Tempah & Ellie Goulding and The Wanted. They are the result of votes cast by the BRITs Voting Academy, which consists of 1000 people from various sectors of the music industry. For the very first time, artists have also been invited to join the Voting Academy and have placed their vote for this year’s winners.

The BRIT Awards 2011will be held at The O2 in London on Tuesday 15th February and will be broadcast live on ITV1.

Full list of nominees here:

British Male Solo Artist:

  • Mark Ronson
  • Paul Weller
  • Plan B
  • Robert Plant
  • Tinie Tempah


British Female Solo Artist:

  • Cheryl Cole
  • Ellie Goulding
  • Laura Marling
  • Paloma Faith
  • Rumer


British Breakthrough Act:

  • Ellie Goulding
  • Mumford & Sons
  • Rumer
  • Tinie Tempah
  • The XX


British Group:

  • Biffy Clyro
  • Gorillaz
  • Mumford & Sons
  • Take That
  • The XX


British Single

  • Alexandra Burke ft Pitbull - All Night Long
  • Cheryl Cole - Parachute
  • Florence & The Machine - You’ve Got The Love
  • Matt Cardle - When We Collide
  • Olly Murs - Please Don’t Let Me Go
  • Plan B - She Said
  • Scouting For Girls - This Ain’t A Love Song
  • Taio Cruz - Dynamite
  • Tinie Tempah - Pass Out
  • The Wanted - All Time Low


MasterCard British Album of the Year

  • Mumford & Sons - Sigh No More
  • Plan B - The Defamation of Strickland Banks
  • Take That - Progress
  • Tinie Tempah - Disc-Overy
  • The XX - XX


International Male Solo Artist

  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Cee Lo Green
  • David Guetta
  • Eminem
  • Kanye West


International Female Solo Artist

  • Alicia Keys
  • Katy Perry
  • Kylie Minogue
  • Rihanna
  • Robyn


International Breakthrough Act

  • Bruno Mars
  • Glee Cast
  • Justin Bieber
  • The National
  • The Temper Trap


International Group

  • Arcade Fire
  • Black Eyed Peas
  • Kings of Leon
  • The Script
  • Vampire Weekend


International Album

  • Arcade Fire - The Suburbs
  • Cee Lo Green - The Lady Killer
  • Eminem - Recovery
  • Katy Perry - Teenage Dream
  • Kings Of Leon - Come Around Sundown


Critics’ Choice

  • Jessie J (Winner)
  • James Blake
  • The Vaccines


British Producer

  • Ethan Johns
  • John Leckie
  • Markus Dravs
  • Mike Pela
  • Stuart Price